A. Woodson Isom

A. WOODSON “WOODY” ISOM is an experienced jury trial lawyer and Circuit Civil Mediator who has limited his practice to ADR since 2020. He has been a Florida Bar Certified Civil Trial Lawyer since the inception of the certification program in 1983 and was certified as a Civil Trial Advocate by the National Board of Trial Advocacy from 1988 - 2018. He is a charter member and past president of the Tampa Bay Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates. He holds a B.S. degree in mathematics from the University of Florida and a J.D. degree, with high honors, from the Florida State University College of Law, where he received the American Jurisprudence book awards for torts and evidence. Mr. Isom received his training as a trial lawyer at the Fowler, White firm in Tampa where he handled insurance defense matters from 1975 to 1985. From 1985 to 2020 he represented plaintiffs in personal injury, property and insurance matters, including aviation cases. Since he became a certified civil mediator in 1993, his practice has included mediation, arbitration, and service as special discovery magistrate. He is rated “AV” by Martindale-Hubbell and has been recognized as a Florida “Super Lawyer” from 2009 through 2020. He is an active member of the Tampa Bay Inn of Court and was the 2014 recipient of its Abraham Lincoln Award, which is awarded in recognition of legal excellence, civility, professionalism and ethics. Mr. Isom was past member of the Executive Council of the Trial Lawyers Section and a member and former Chair of the Civil Trial Certification Committee of The Florida Bar.

Areas Of Expertise

  • Aviation
  • Engineering and Construction
  • Insurance
  • Personal Injury/Torts
  • Professional Liability
  • Special Master/Discovery Referee
  • General Mediation

Special Designation

  • N/A

Areas Of Certification

  • Circuit Civil


P.O. Box 320461
Tampa, FL 33679-2461

(813) 629-6388




1 Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa and Walton
2 Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, and Wakulla
3 Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee and Taylor
4 Clay, Duval and Nassau
5 Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Marion and Sumter
6 Pasco and Pinellas
7 Flagler, Putnam, St. Johns and Volusia
8 Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy, and Union
9 Orange and Osceola
10 Hardee, Highlands, and Polk
11 Dade
12 DeSoto, Manatee, and Sarasota
13 Hillsborough
14 Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson and Washington
15 Palm Beach
16 Monroe
17 Broward
18 Brevard and Seminole
19 Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie
20 Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry and Lee